The Case Memorial Library is pleased to offer dozens of databases available to Case Memorial Library cardholders, most of which are accessible from your home computer or mobile device. Databases for Orange residents only are marked below with the Case Memorial Library logo 
. Databases with the researchIT CT logo 
are brought to you by the Connecticut State Library and are available to all Connecticut residents with a valid card from their hometown library. Have your library card handy to log in. Databases not marked with a logo are open to the general public, unless otherwise noted.
Get started exploring these databases by clicking on a topic, browsing the databases in alphabetical order (scroll to the bottom of the list), or using researchIT CT OneSearch. Library staff are happy to provide help with any of the databases listed.
Databases by Subject
-
Books
-
Business
-
Consumer Information
-
Education
-
Genealogy
-
General Reference
-
History and Biography
-
Homework Help
-
Legal
-
Magazines
-
Newspapers
-
Scholarly Journals
-
Science
-
Databases A-F
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a peer-reviewed multi-disciplinary database with full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over 100 journals, and searchable, cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Ancestry Library (in-library use only)
Ancestry Library is the leading online resource for tracing your family’s history, making accessible through one simple search more than 500 million names contained in the most comprehensive and diverse collection of online genealogical databases available. In-library use only.
Biography Reference Bank
Wilson’s largest biography database contains in-depth and original biography profiles, features articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, and obituaries covering over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images. With links to every articles focused on any individual in nearly every WilsonWeb database, Biography Reference Bank offers a breadth and depth on information you’ll find in no other biography database.
Biography Reference Center
Containing many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines, this database offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full-text biographies as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies. This resource provides superior coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained in Biography Today and Biography Magazine.
Christian Science Monitor
Full-text coverage: 1988-present
Connecticut Consumer Health Information
Connecticut Consumer Health Information, also known as HealthNet, is the University of Connecticut Health Center Library’s consumer health information program for Connecticut residents and public libraries.
Connecticut Digital Collections
Search individually, or as a combined search, the digital collections of the Connecticut State Library, Connecticut History Online, Newspapers of Connecticut, and Treasures of Connecticut Libraries.
Connecticut History Online
Connecticut History Online is a digital collection of over 15,000 digital primary sources, including photographs, maps, broadsides, oral histories, manuscripts and oral histories as well as associated interpretive and educational material. These document events, people, and places that are part of the fabric of Connecticut and American social, business, political, educational, cultural, and civic life.
Connecticut Physician Profiles
Connecticut Physician Profiles is an online renewal, verification and credential management system that provides information on Connecticut licensed physicians their specialty, education, languages spoken, board certification, and any malpractice actions.
Connecticut State Library’s Digital Collections
The Connecticut State Library’s Digital Collections is a collection of materials from the Connecticut State Library and the State Archives, including court documents, law and legal materials, photographs, farms, roads, bridges and more.
ConsumerReports.org
Search for full ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in a wide variety of categories from Consumer Reports.
ERIC
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index dating back to 1996.
Explora for Elementary Schools
Explora for Middle Schools
Explora for High Schools
-
Databases G-M
GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Hartford Courant
Full-text coverage: 1992-present
Hartford Courant – Historical
Full-text coverage: 1764-1922
History Reference Center
History Reference Center features full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias, and nonfiction books from leading history publishers; full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals; nearly 57,000 historical documents; more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 113,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Legal Information Reference Center
Legal Information Reference Center provides online full-text access for many of the top consumer legal reference books, more than 225 full-text publications, and thousands of legal forms. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
Los Angeles Times
Full-text coverage: 1985-present
MainFile
MainFile is a multi-disciplinary database providing full-text and indexing and abstracting for more than 12,000 publications. Coverage encompasses all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas. In addition, MainFile offers over 440,000 photos, maps, and flags and more than 17,500 company profiles.
MAS Ultra: School Edition (high schools)
Designed specifically for high school libraries, MAS Ultra contains full text for nearly 500 popular high school magazines. This database also provides more than 360 full-text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps and flags, color PDFs, and expanded full-text back files for key magazines.
MasterFile Premier
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection for over 592,000 photos, maps, and flags. Includes Consumer Reports.
MedlinePlus
The National Library of Medicine’s MedlinePlus is a Web-based database designed to assist you in locating authoritative health information on diseases and conditions, hospitals, physicians, and medical drugs. It contains pages of carefully selected links to Web resources including medical encyclopedias and dictionaries, directories, organizations, news sources, and health topics.
Middle Search Plus (middle school)
Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator. Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains over 84,000 biographies, more than 100,000 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps, and flags.
-
Databases N-Z
New York Times
Full-text coverage: 1985-present
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, Newspaper Source Plus features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
OverDrive
The Library has thousands of downloadable e-books and audiobooks for your enjoyment. Browse and search hundreds of great titles and download them to your computer or device, transfer them to a portable device, or burn them to a CD for your reading or listening pleasure.
Primary Search
Primary Search provides full-text coverage for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full-text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator and full-text information dates as far back as 1990.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full-text education journals in the world. This database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles, as well as more than 200 educational reports.
PubMed
PubMed includes over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MedLine, life science journals, and online books.
Referencia Latina
Referencia Latina is a general reference resource for Spanish speakers covering issues of particular relevance for Latin America, Spain, and the United States. Referencia Latina includes a 49,000-entry encyclopedia; 2,500 evidence-based, graphical health reports; and 50,000 images with Spanish language captions. The database also contains a Spanish-English dictionary, an atlas consisting of 331 maps, over 100 reference books and dozens of general interest magazines.
researchIT CT Newsstand
Search Christian Science Monitor, Hartford Courant, Hartford Courant Historical, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post all at once.
researchIT CT OneSearch
ResearchIT CT OneSearch simultaneously searches all of the ResearchIT CT databases together in a simple interface, including Academic OneFile, Biography Reference Center, History Reference Center, MainFile, MasterFILE Premier, and National Newspapers.
researchIT CT OneSearch Business Profile
researchIT CT OneSearch Business Profile simultaneously searches all researchIT CT databases and limits your search results to only business and management-related information.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. Topics include: assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science, mathematics, and teacher education.
TOPICsearch
TOPICsearch is a current events database on social, political, and economic issues including controversial opinions and viewpoints. It contains full text for over 150,000 articles from 475 diverse sources including newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
Treasures of Connecticut Libraries
Treasures of Connecticut Libraries is a collection of more than 1,500 items from Connecticut libraries and partnering institutions, including Civil War letters, historical photographs, postcards, pamphlets, films and more.
Wall Street Journal
Full-text coverage: 1984-present
Washington Post
Full-text coverage: 1987-present